跳到主要内容

家族企业实力强

30年2020月XNUMX日

进取的家庭及其业务是全球最重要的经济力量。 在美国,所有企业中有90%是家族拥有或经营的企业,它们雇用了60%以上的劳动力,并创造了70%以上的新工作。 [1]

尽管家族企业对我们的经济和社会产生了显着的积极影响,但人们常常认为家族企业的参与是一个仅带来问题的公司的负面特征。 那些采用这种方法的人认为,家庭参与企业存在问题,因为:

  1. 家庭冲突可能损害企业的可能性增加。
  2. 这些公司的治理和程序通常没有结构性,这会导致资源管理和使用效率低下。
  3. 家族企业缺乏过渡计划,这使得下一代很难成功地进行业务管理。
  4. 家族企业很难明确其角色,职责以及如何与家庭和非家庭雇员的薪酬和奖励制度联系在一起,从而造成了透明度和公平性问题。

但是,那些以负面的方式看待家庭参与企业的人却没有意识到至少三个重要因素。 首先,每种商业模式都有优点和缺点。 因此,不仅家族式公司面临上述问题。 其他形式的企业也这样做。 其次,家族企业之间存在很大差异。[2] 因此,尽管有些家族企业可能需要工作,但有些家族企业却组织得很好并且具有竞争力。 第三,家庭参与业务还可以提供重要的力量和差异来源,有助于企业蓬勃发展。

那么……一家人怎么能生意兴隆?

家庭与企业之间的联系至少为企业带来了三个重要的优势:长期定位,对利益相关者的承诺以及对遗产的关注。 大型家族企业的特点是注重长期连续性。[3] 由于家族的影响,这些伟大的公司承担了重要的使命。 他们坚持不懈地追求自己的核心能力。 家族企业能够耐心地进行投资和牺牲,他们了解管理的重要性。 因此,家族的参与可以加强和约束组织,使其能够专注于公司的长期发展,并度过环境中的困境。

蓬勃发展的家族企业的特点还在于他们对不同利益相关者的承诺。 家族与公司本质的联系常常给那些以多种方式与企业联系的人带来责任感。[4] 例如,繁荣的家族企业发展了强大的团队,这些团队拥护来自家族的价值观。 他们与团队成员进行社交,以确保这些团队之间具有忠诚度,主动性和协作性。 繁荣的家族企业还渴望成为社区中的好邻居,并与商业伙伴,客户和社区建立互惠互利的关系。 从这个意义上讲,家庭参与业务可以帮助倡导强化社区的价值观和行为。

因此,家族企业不仅仅关注经济上的发展。 他们还关注自己对社区的影响,在企业中保留家庭影响力以及员工和业务合作伙伴的福祉。

家庭参与业务也可以促进对遗产的关注。 从一般意义上讲,遗产包括从一个家庭的一代传给另一个家庭的重要特征,价值观,态度,信念和看法。 对遗留物的关注很重要,因为它会影响公司选择追求的目标类型。 研究表明,家庭参与业务会导致实现超出纯粹财务重点的目标,将非经济因素包括在内。[5] 因此,家族企业不仅仅关注经济上的发展。 他们还关注自己对社区的影响,在企业中保留家庭影响力以及员工和业务合作伙伴的福祉。 使这些企业擅长于其工作的因素。

这样看来,家庭的参与可以创造一个环境,使组织可以在很长一段时间内生存和发展。 家庭参与企业,尤其是在动荡的环境中,会促进使家族企业具有韧性的关键行为。[6] 这些行为包括适应性(即,对现有资源进行重新利用的适应性),自我调节(即,管理威胁以避免崩溃的能力),冗余(即,在紧急情况下支持或更换系统的能力)以及多样性(即,访问权限)到一系列功能和资源)。

因此,对于那些相信家庭参与总是会导致弱点的人,请知道并非总是如此。 家族可以为企业提供耐力,目标和实力,以使其家族企业更强大。

关于贡献者:

伊莎贝尔·博特罗(Isabel C.Botero)博士,是路易斯维尔大学(University of Louisville)家族企业中心主任兼企业家精神副教授。 她是家族企业研究所的院士,并拥有《家族财富咨询》高级证书。 她的研究专注于战略沟通
家族企业的流程和下一代问题。

她是该杂志的副编辑 家族企业战略杂志。 她曾是FOBI学者,在40多种期刊中拥有XNUMX多种出版物,例如 家族企业评论,家族企业战略杂志,家族企业管理杂志,管理研究杂志, 管理沟通季刊。

关于路易斯维尔大学家族商业中心

路易斯维尔大学的家族企业中心(FBC)是该国同类机构中最古老,最受尊敬的中心之一。 该中心为肯塔基州地区的家族企业提供必要的工具,以在所有所有阶段保持,维持和发展其企业。 会员可以使用专业资源以及已建立的家族企业,著名的家族企业专家和大学的商学院的综合见解。

说明

[1] 作者更新的数字以反映2018年的数据– Astrachan,JH和Shanker,MC(2003)。 家族企业对美国经济的贡献:仔细研究。 家族企业评论16(3),211 219。

[2] Steier,L.(2009)新公司从哪里来? 家庭,家庭资产,种族和福利组合。 家族企业评论22(3),273 278。

[3] Miller,D.和Le Breton-Miller,I.(2005)。 长期管理:家族企业从竞争优势中获得的教训。 哈佛商业出版社。

[4] 克里斯曼(Chrisman,JJ),蔡(Chua),约翰(JH),皮尔森(Pearson),AW和巴尼特(Barnett)(2012)。 小型企业中的家庭参与,家庭影响和以家庭为中心的非经济目标。企业家理论与实践,36,267–293。 Gomez-Mejia,LR,Haynes,KT,Nunez-Nickel,M.,Jacobson,KJL,&Moyano-Fuentes,J.(2007年)。

[5] 家族控股公司的社会情感财富和商业风险:来自西班牙橄榄油厂的证据。行政科学季刊,52,106-137。

[6] DeCiantis,D.和Lansberg,I.(2017)家族企业的弹性。 从以下网址访问:https://www.lgassoc.com/writing/2017/3/30/resilience-in-family-enterprises-lessons-from-emerging-and-frontiermarkets

下载FBC 白皮书PDF。

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian

Skip to main content

Family Business Strong

April 30, 2020

Enterprising families and their businesses are the most important economic force around the world. In the United States, 90% of all the businesses are family owned or operated, they employ over 60% of the workforce, and generate over 70% of the new jobs. [1]

Even though family enterprises have a significant positive influence on our economy and society, people often view the involvement of the family in the business a negative characteristic of a firm that brings only problems. Those who take this approach argue that family’s involvement in the enterprise is problematic because:

  1. There is an increased possibility of family conflict that can harm the business.
  2. These companies are often unstructured in their governance and procedures, which creates inefficiencies in the management and use of resources.
  3. Companies that are family owned lack in transition planning, which makes it difficult for the incoming generation to be successful in the management of the business.
  4. Family enterprises have difficulty with clarity of roles, responsibilities and how they are tied to the compensation and reward system for family and non-family employees, which creates transparency and fairness problems.

However, those that view the involvement of the family in the businesses in a negative way fail to acknowledge at least three important factors. First, every business model has strengths and weaknesses. Thus, it is not only companies who are family-owned that face the problems described above. Other forms of enterprises also do. Second, considerable variation exists among family enterprises.[2] Therefore, while there are some family businesses that may need work, there are others that are very well organized and competitive. And third, the involvement of the family in the business can also provide an important source of strength and differentiation that can help a business thrive.

So… how can the family make a business strong?

The connection between the family and the business brings at least three important strengths to a business: Long-term orientation, commitment to stakeholders, and a focus on legacy. Great family enterprises are characterized by their focus on long term continuity.[3] As a result of the influence of the family these great companies embrace a mission that matters. They are relentless in the way they pursue their core capabilities. Family enterprises are able to invest and sacrifice patiently, and they understand the importance of stewardship. Thus, the involvement of the family can strengthen and discipline the organization to be able to focus on the long term of the company and weather difficult situations in the environment.

Thriving family enterprises are also characterized by their commitment to their different stakeholders. The family connection to the essence of the company often brings a sense of responsibility towards those who are connected to the business in multiple ways.[4] For example, family enterprises that prosper develop strong teams that embrace the values that come from the family. They socialize team members to ensure that there is loyalty, initiative, and collaboration within these teams. Prosperous family enterprises also aspire to be good neighbors in their communities, and develop mutually beneficial relationships with business partners, customers and their community. In this sense, the involvement of the family in the business can help to champion values and behaviors that strengthen the community.

Therefore, family enterprises focus on much more than doing economically well. They also focus on their impact their communities, the preservation of the family influence in the business, and the well-being of employees and business partners.

The family’s involvement in the business can also promote a focus on legacy. In a general sense, a legacy encompasses important features, values, attitudes, beliefs, and perceptions that are transferred from one generation of a family to another. A focus on legacy is important because it can affect the types of goals a company chooses to pursue. Research has shown that the involvement of the family in the business results in embracing goals that move beyond a purely financial focus to include non-economic components.[5] Therefore, family enterprises focus on much more than doing economically well. They also focus on their impact their communities, the preservation of the family influence in the business, and the well-being of employees and business partners. Factors that make these businesses good at what they do.

It seems then, that the involvement of the family can create an environment in which organizations can survive and thrive for very long periods of time. The involvement of the family in a business, especially during volatile conditions, promotes key behaviors that make family enterprises resilient.[6] These behaviors include adaptability (i.e., adaptability to repurpose existing resources), self-regulation (i.e., capacity to manage threats to avoid collapse), redundancy (i.e., capability to support or replace systems in an emergency), and diversity (i.e., access to a range of capabilities and resources).

So, for those who believe that family involvement always results in a weakness, please know that this is not always the case. The family can provide endurance, purpose, and strength to a business to make it family business strong.

About Contributor:

Isabel C. Botero, PhD, is the Director of the Family Business Center and an associate professor of entrepreneurship at the University of Louisville. She is a Fellow for the Family Firm Institute and has an Advanced Certificate in Family Wealth Advising. Her research focuses on strategic communication
processes and next-generation issues in family enterprises.

She is an associate editor for the Journal of Family Business Strategy. She is a past FOBI Scholar, and has over 40 publications in journals such as Family Business Review, Journal of Family Business Strategy, Journal of Family Business Management, Journal of Management Studies, and Management Communication Quarterly.

About the University of Louisville Family Business Center

The Family Business Center (FBC) at the University of Louisville is one of the oldest and most respected centers of its kind in the country. The center equips family-owned businesses in the Kentuckiana region with the tools necessary to maintain, sustain, and grow their enterprises through all phases of ownership. Members receive access to professional resources and combined insights of established family-owned businesses, acclaimed family business experts, and the university’s College of Business.

Notes

[1] Updated number by Author to reflect 2018 data – Astrachan, J. H., & Shanker, M. C. (2003). Family businesses’ contribution to the US economy: A closer look. Family Business Review, 16(3), 211-219.

[2] Steier, L. (2009) Where do new firms come from? Households, family capital, ethnicity, and the welfare mix. Family Business Review, 22(3), 273-278.

[3] Miller, D., & Le Breton-Miller, I. (2005). Managing for the long run: Lessons in competitive advantage from great family businesses. Harvard Business Press.

[4] Chrisman, J.J., Chua, J.H., Pearson, A.W., & Barnett, T. (2012). Family involvement, family influence, and family centered noneconomic goals in small firms.Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, 36, 267–293. Gomez-Mejia, L. R., Haynes, K. T., Nunez-Nickel, M., Jacobson, K. J. L., & Moyano-Fuentes, J. (2007).

[5] Socioemotional wealth and business risks in family-controlled firms: Evidence from Spanish olive oil mills.Administrative Science Quarterly, 52, 106–137.

[6] DeCiantis, D. & Lansberg, I. (2017) Resilience in Family Enterprises. Accessed from: https://www.lgassoc.com/writing/2017/3/30/resilience-in-family-enterprises-lessons-from-emerging-and-frontiermarkets

Download the FBC White Paper PDF.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian