跳到主要内容

COVID-19反思博客:Kathleen Gosser博士(管理学助理教授)

2020年3月3日 吉姆华纳
凯西·戈瑟(Kathy Gosser)商学院

我们的学生

我的学生的韧性是每天激发我灵感的。 我的许多学生都在五月份毕业,并积极寻找工作。 他们的生活被颠倒了。 但是他们坚持不懈。 为了提供救济,大学慷慨地采用了通过/未通过政策; 但是,我的大多数学生都希望继续获得成绩。

我的目标是确保学生得到支持和养育。 是的,我用了“养育”这个词,这对学者来说是一个奇怪的说法。 但是,在这个社会孤立的世界中,我希望我的学生知道我在乎他们,并会在他们学习过程的每一个步骤中为他们提供帮助。

在我的座谈课上,我选择过渡到Blackboard上的Collaborate Ultra,这样我就可以看到和听到我的学生并模拟教室环境。 该工具提供了交互式功能,例如音频,视频,聊天,轮询,分组,甚至还可以“写”我上传的幻灯​​片。

提高参与度是一项更多的工作,但是使用在我提出问题之前不要讲话超过3-5分钟的规则会有所作为。 每个班级都有一张幻灯片开始,向学生询问有关发生了什么的问题。 这张幻灯片让他们习惯了彼此互动。 他们甚至在聊天中互相取笑,这很令人心动。

与每个学生进行单独跟进也让他们知道我真正在乎他们。 这就是为什么我选择教学作为第二职业–学生。 现在是时候真正证明他们是大学的心跳。

COB过渡

在短短的一周内,商学院(COB)的每个课程都必须过渡到在线方式。 到2020年春季,我们已经在线开设了29个本科课程,但有166个座位可供选择-是的,一周内将有166个课程上课!

克里斯汀·卢卡斯(Kristen Lucas)[教务副院长]迅速采取行动。 她意识到,在德尔菲中心提供许多培训课程的同时,我们需要COB的内部支持。 她对教师进行了调查,以确定在线的专业水平; 我们五个人认为我们可以作为“专家”并提供COB培训和指导。 我们最初计划亲自进行此操作,但是我们的计划又很快发生了变化,因此我们创建了在线资源。 我们的专家团队包括Melissa Campbell,Abby Koenig,Dale McIntosh,Andrew Wright和我。 我们每个人都声称自己拥有特殊的专业知识,然后开始工作。

在Blackboard中创建了一个Training Resources网站,并且所有COB教职员工均已添加到该网站。 我们五个人创建了视频教程,演示了如何使用Blackboard的功能来交付丰富的在线内容。 我们在Blackboard举办了现场会议,以回答问题。

我们还与教授进行了一对一的交流,需要更多指导。 克里斯汀(Kristen)还建立了一个指导计划,并征求了指导者和受训者。

培训资源网站不断发展并发展新材料。 我们添加了有关如何在线交付的外部资源以及学生资源。

有一个讨论板来推动教师之间的对话。 我们添加了一些文化元素,例如有趣的部分(例如幽默的卡通)和灵感的部分。 我们甚至主持在线办公时间。

对我而言,所有这一切最意外的结果就是,我比以前更亲近许多同僚。 我去年八月开始全职工作,所以我是新手。 “强迫”伙伴关系在教师之间赢得了很多尊重和知识共享。

我们当然不是在“浪费一次好危机”,因为我们比以往任何时候都更加相互协作和相互帮助。 我们目前正在经历的成长心态正在激励着我们所有人和我们的学生。

简体中文英语德语印地语俄语

Skip to main content

COVID-19 Reflection Blog: Kathleen Gosser, PhD (Assistant Professor, Management)

March 30, 2020 Jim Warner
Kathy Gosser Faculty College of Business

Our Students

The resiliency of my students is what inspires me every single day. Many of my students are graduating in May and actively seeking employment. Their lives have been turned upside down. But they persevere. To provide relief, the university graciously deployed a pass/fail policy; however, the majority of my students want to continue to earn their grades.  

My goal is to ensure my students feel supported and nurtured. Yes, I used that word “nurtured,” which is an odd statement for an academic. But, in this world of social isolation, I want my students to know that I care about them and will help them every step of their academic journey.

With my seated class, I chose to transition to Collaborate Ultra on Blackboard so that I could see and hear my students and simulate a classroom environment. This tool provides interactive features such as audio, video, chat, polling, groups, and even the ability to “write” on my uploaded slides. 

It is more work to drive engagement, but using the rule of not talking for more than 3-5 minutes before I ask a question is making a difference. Each class is kicked off with a slide asking the students a question about what’s been going on. This slide gets them used to engaging with each other. They are even teasing each other in the chat, which is heartwarming.

Following up individually with each student has also let them know that I truly care about them. That is why I chose teaching as a second career – the students. Now is the time to truly demonstrate that they are the heartbeat of the university.

COB Transition

In one short week, every class in the College of Business (COB) had to transition to an online modality. For Spring, 2020, we had 29 undergraduate classes already online, but 166 were seated – yes, 166 classes to be moved in one week!

Kristen Lucas [Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs] quickly sprung into action. She realized that while the Delphi Center was providing many training sessions, we needed internal support in the COB. She surveyed the faculty to determine levels of expertise with online; five of us felt we could serve as “experts” and provide COB training and mentorship. We originally planned to do this in person, but again our plans changed quickly, so we created online resources. Our expert faculty include Melissa Campbell, Abby Koenig, Dale McIntosh, Andrew Wright, and me. We each claimed our particular area of expertise and went to work.  

A Training Resources site was created in Blackboard, and all COB faculty and staff were added to it. The five of us created video tutorials demonstrating how to use the functions of Blackboard to deliver rich online content. We hosted live sessions in Blackboard to respond to questions. 

We also spent time one-on-one with professors needing a bit more guidance. Kristen set up a mentoring program as well and solicited mentors and mentees.  

The Training Resource site continues to evolve and grow with new material. We added external resources on how to deliver online as well as student resources. 

There is a discussion board to drive conversations among the faculty. We are adding some cultural components such as a section for fun (humorous cartoons, for example) and one for inspiration. We even host online office hours. 

The most unexpected outcome of all of this for me is that I feel closer to many of my fellow faculty members than I did before. I started full-time last August, so I am new. The “forced” partnerships have created much respect and sharing of knowledge among faculty. 

We are certainly not “wasting a good crisis” as we are collaborating and helping each other more than ever. The growth mindset that we are currently experiencing is invigorating for all of us and our students.

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussian