跳到主要内容

桥接指导

18年2022月XNUMX日
嗯! 品牌员工指导高中生

2022 年春季,来自 Yum 的导师! 合作过的品牌 红衣主教桥学院 肖尼学院的学生向他们教授各种专业主题,包括有效沟通、团队合作、情商、创新和网络。 他们的参与源于公司的 解锁机会倡议,在 100 年作出 2020 亿美元的承诺,旨在通过其所服务社区的公平和包容、教育和创业来解决不平等问题。 通过提供一系列实践活动和一对一的会议,定期会议有助于在导师和学员之间建立深入而有意义的联系。 

“有些演讲者来了,说话,我们再也没有收到他们的消息。 我喜欢这些导师多次回来,以及他们如何花时间了解我们并提供与他们保持联系的方式,”Mercella Carter 说。 “导师们可以去任何地方,但他们来到了肖尼。 我真的很感激。” 

当被问及他从辅导课程中学到了什么时,初级 Corey Garner 说:“我了解到雇主正在寻找勤奋和敬业的人来帮助他们的企业。 拥有这类信息将帮助我在未来的雇主中找到成功。” 

Kelly Schmidt,百胜数字招聘和人力资源运营总监! Brands 担任导师,并在享受重复出现的联系机会方面表达了类似的观点。 “我喜欢这是一种持续的体验,让我真正了解学生......我觉得我必须建立关系并了解每个学生作为个体是谁。 我也很高兴能够教给他们技能,他们可以在未来的职业生涯中学到并使用这些技能。” 在学生们从课程中收获良多的同时,导师们也学到了宝贵的经验。 “通过与学生一起工作,我获得了很多快乐,”凯利说。 “我和他们一起度过的时光是打破我的一天并做一些好事的好方法。 我强烈建议成为一名导师。 你会遇到一些很棒的孩子,即使你只对一个学生产生影响,它也可能给那个学生留下长期的、改变生活的影响。 这是非常有益的。”

Kat Abner,Yum! 的社会目的项目经理! 品牌,还担任过导师。 肖尼的学生给她留下了深刻的印象。 “成为导师是一份礼物。 你将从学生那里获得很多——了解不同一代人的生活是什么样的,并更深入地了解自己的长处和短处。 最重要的是,您通过鼓励年轻人的个人和职业生涯来回馈社会。” 

红衣主教桥学院将在 2022-23 学年期间在整个 JCPS 学校扩大其指导计划。 我们正在寻找有才华和服务导向的人担任导师。 如果您准备好通过担任导师、导师或赞助商来改变学生的生活,请通过以下方式联系我们 cbabiz@louisville.edu.  

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish

Skip to main content

Bridging Mentorship

July 18, 2022
Yum! Brands employee mentoring highschool students

In spring 2022, mentors from Yum! Brands worked with Cardinal Bridge Academy students from the Academy at Shawnee to teach them about various professional topics, including effective communication, teamwork, emotional intelligence, innovation, and networking. Their involvement stems from the company’s Unlocking Opportunity Initiative, a $100 million commitment made in 2020, which aims to tackle inequality through equity and inclusion, education, and entrepreneurship in the communities in which it serves. Regular sessions helped develop deep and meaningful connections between mentors and mentees by providing a range of hands-on activities and one-on-one meetings. 

“Some speakers come, speak, and we never hear from them again. I liked that these mentors came back multiple times and how they took the time to get to know us and provide ways to stay in contact with them,” Mercella Carter said. “The mentors could’ve gone anywhere, but they came to Shawnee. I really appreciated that.” 

When asked what he learned from the mentoring sessions, junior Corey Garner said, “I learned that employers are looking for hardworking and dedicated people to help their businesses. Having this type of information is going to help me find success with my future employers.” 

Kelly Schmidt, Director of Digital Recruiting and HR Operations at Yum! Brands, served as a mentor and echoed similar sentiments regarding enjoying the reoccurring opportunities for connections. “I liked that it was an ongoing experience where I really got to know the students…I feel like I got to build relationships and understand who each of the students were as individuals. I also enjoyed being able to teach them skills that they can take away and use in a future career.” While the students gained much from the sessions, the mentors also learned valuable lessons. “I gained so much joy by working with the students,” says Kelly. “My time spent with them was a great way to break up my day and to do something good. I highly recommend becoming a mentor. You’ll get to meet some great kids, and even if you only have an impact on one student, it could leave a long-term and life-changing impact on that student. It is very rewarding.”

Kat Abner, Social Purpose Program Manager at Yum! Brands, also worked as a mentor. She was impressed with the students from Shawnee. “Being a mentor is a gift. You will gain so much from the students—perspective on what life is like for a different generation and a deeper understanding of your own strengths and weaknesses. Most importantly, you are giving back by encouraging young people along their personal and professional journeys.” 

The Cardinal Bridge Academy will be expanding its mentoring program throughout JCPS schools during the 2022-23 school year. We are looking for talented and service-oriented people to serve as mentors. If you are ready to make a difference in a student’s life by serving as a mentor, tutor, or sponsor, please contact us at cbabiz@louisville.edu.  

Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish