Skip to main content

The Galbreath Award

This award is named for the late John W. Galbreath, a self-made man who distinguished himself in both business and also as a horseman. Born in Derby, Ohio, he built a small local firm into an international real-estate project-development company. His interests included the Pittsburgh Pirates baseball team and Darby Dan Farm, a Thoroughbred breeding and racing enterprise that won stakes races on three continents. He also served for many years as chairman of Churchill Downs.

Mr. Galbreath was the first ever to breed and race Kentucky Derby winners (Chateaugay and Proud Clarion) and an English (Epsom) Derby winner (Roberto). He received Eclipse Awards as racing’s “Man of the Year” in 1972 and as the country’s outstanding breeder in 1974. Mr. Galbreath was heavily involved in importing top Thoroughbred stallions from overseas, and among his selections were Ribot and Sea- Bird II.

The Galbreath Award is presented annually to one individual whose entrepreneurial leadership has had a significant and positive impact on the equine industry. The criteria used in selecting the winner are:

  • Has introduced original and creative techniques or approaches to business
  • Has demonstrated a willingness to take personal or career risks
  • Has utilized forward-thinking and visionary management planning
  • Has shown an ability to render a business firm or organization more effective and profitable
  • Has gained the respect of peers as evidence of character and integrity

Rules and Procedures

The John W. Galbreath Award Committee has established the following rules and procedures for nomination:

  • Nomination forms are restricted to one individual per form. Posthumous Awards will not be considered.
  • Each nomination submitted must include a supporting letter and a biography outlining the nominee’s achievements. Specific accomplishments, awards and honors, and service in volunteer positions should be included.
  • The University of Louisville Equine Industry Program will appoint a committee to review the nominations and select the Award recipient.
  • Nomination forms together with a biography and supporting letter must be received by the announced annual due date.
  • The winner of the John W. Galbreath Award will be announced and honored at a dinner held in Louisville, Kentucky annually.
  • The University of Louisville Equine Industry Program will retain all entered nominations.

Nomination Form
Chinese (Simplified)EnglishGermanHindiRussianSpanish